S is for Sriracha goes with EVERYTHING!

 

HEEEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLLLLOOOOOO out there!  Anyone home reading this??

As promised, I made the Sweet N’ Spicy Sriracha Salmon this week and let me tell you….I was too busy eating it to blog about it until it was all gone.  Because of this small fact, I have left you with an image of this recipe from the skinny taste cookbook that I so love to shamelessly plug (www.skinnytaste.com).

12424613_801759009968182_817423867_n(1)

Today I will be talking about that recipe.  It has an asian inspired flavor profile and, as such, for those of you who do not have the cookbook I have provided a link to a similar recipe available to you online.  http://www.skinnytaste.com/2013/02/honey-teriyaki-salmon.html

First off, might I add that I live in a tiny apartment with a roommate, three cats, and a VERY small kitchen??  Cats that LIVE in the kitchen and sit waiting for me to make a mistake.  They are affectionate and loving OPPORTUNISTS.  If I can cook with all that going on in my “cozy” kitchen, you can to.

12534469_1635401320055742_1593745845_n

Back to the salmon….super quick to make with a basic ingredient list: low-sodium soy sauce, honey, rice vinegar, sriracha, ginger, garlic.  I marinaded with these ingredients and cooked it on the stove-top with sesame oil .  Easy peasy.

The sesame oil was a splurge (9.99 for 16 oz) but it was worth it.  It adds great flavor to any asian inspired dish.  Now, do yourself a favor and don’t be stupid like I was and buy the dark “pure” sesame oil in your international aisle at your local grocery store.  That is apparently only good for seasoning dishes, NOT as a cooking oil.  Get the light colored sesame oil lest you find yourself making an extra trip to the grocery at 11:30 pm because you decided to save two dollars buying the dark brown stuff….I am NOT cheap.  I am NOT cheap….

12479305_173967186298315_1592954645_n

If you don’t have these things already stocked I would recommend that you go buy them because they get used A LOT in healthy recipes.  For those of you unsure of what to keep in a healthy kitchen, I frequently find myself stocking my pantry with most of the things mentioned in this great article: http://www.eatingwell.com/healthy_cooking/healthy_cooking_101/how_to_stock_your_pantry

As for the recipe.  It was DELECTABLE, DELIGHTFUL, DEVINE….It was, forgive my lack of food snobbery, DAMN GOOD.  Dare I say the best salmon recipe I have ever made.   It might have been perfect except for two things.  First, I have yet to learn how to properly sear meat. Don’t laugh at me people.  The struggle is real.  Seared meat should look like this….

seared meat
Properly seared meat

Mine does not.  In an attempt to avoid my notorious just-scrape-off-the-top meat pieces I tend to not sear my meat enough.  I’m still learning.  For a link on how to sear meat, look here: http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-sear-meat-47333

The second caveat to this delicious salmon was the meat purchase.  Half of my salmon was fresh from the butcher counter while the other half was frozen salmon from the package I had in my fridge.  WOW.  What a difference.  Jimmy (the bf) and I inhaled the fresh salmon.  And as for the packaged salmon?  This is what it looked like after cooking:

img_20160116_205001.jpg

It was the rubbery-ist, fishy-est tasting grossness.  I honestly could not believe I have been eating salmon like this for so long.  If you are wondering why healthy food is so gross this could very well be one of your problems.  Trust me.  Buy your meat fresh when it is on sale.  IT MAKES ALL THE DIFFERENCE between I-could-eat-this-the-rest-of-my-life and where-is-my-big-mac?

That aside, the fresh salmon still came out perfectly tender.  I would advise to slightly undercook your salmon as it will continue to cook outside the pan.  I did that and my salmon came out flaky, juicy, and melted in my mouth.  The marinade in this recipe is packed with flavor.  So much that every time I take a bite of this salmon a rather audible “yummmm” can be heard to all in the apartment.  And all of this for only 229 calories per serving.  Pair it with your favorite steamed or roasted veggies, and you have dinner in no time.  Keeps for a week in the fridge.

Get healthy with me people!  I KNOW you can do it.  And if you STILL aren’t convinced that sriracha goes with everything, then I dare you to go buy a bottle and prove me wrong 😉

Till next time,

J

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sylvia a Maldonado temperle says:

    Aww look at my babies that salmon looks yummy u will have to make that for me when ever I can go out there I love salmon jer on the other hand will not touch it so make him some drenched pull pork sandwiches and he will be happy he will eat broccoli with cheese n butter lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

