Sick and Soup…Two S’s for the week

Hey There Fellow Friends!

My FIRST food post.  So, this past Friday I started coming down with a scratchy throat which I thought was nothing.  Owed to the fact that I was JUST sick over the entire week of Christmas.  Well, turns out it was more than nothing and by Sunday night (my weekly cooking night…yes, I am a busy graduate student and I cook and prep all my meals for the week on Sundays)… I decided to make a warm, hot, soup to soothe my throat for lunch.  And voila! Here it is, my attempt at Gina Homolka’s Italian Escarole and White Bean Soup.

12407296_1701007486801802_1087067338_n
Italian Escarole and White Bean Soup

 

And no, I can not give you the recipe because it is only available in her cookbook which I beg of you to go and purchase (I got your back Gina!).  But, if you are interested, a very similar recipe Escarole Soup with Turkey Meatballs is available on her blog site… http://www.skinnytaste.com/2009/01/escarole-soup-with-turkey-meatballs-52.html 

First impressions, super easy to make.  Only a few ingredients (ditalini pasta, white beans, escarole or any other endive greens, onion, and lot’s of chicken broth.  Gina uses Swanson’s low sodium chicken broth for her recipes, but I find that there is still too much salt in it.  If you use her brand of broth your soup will be plenty salted, but I used an all organic unsalted sodium brand so I had to add sea salt back in.  She calls for adding black pepper to taste, but that wasn’t enough seasoning for me so I also added garlic powder, onion powder, and Italian seasoning into it (My rationale for this is that it says Italian in the recipe name so why not right? I am NOT an iron chef people)

After ample seasoning, this soup was DELICIOUS.  I am enjoying the soft, silky texture of the escarole in combination with the firm al dente pasta in every bite.  I used rotini instead of ditalini pasta which shows that this recipe is versatile.  The broth has an onion and black pepper taste, with just a bit of the type of seasoning you would expect to find in the tomato sauce on your pizza (I am also not a food critic.  This is just what it tastes like to me, so please don’t beat down my door if you don’t agree.  I’m too friendly for that!)  It’s savory and warm and makes my raw throat feel wonderful.  And, best of all, I can pronounce everything that I put into it.  Try it!

In other news, my friend bronson has been waking me up at 6am every morning so I can try to get on a normal sleep schedule in an attempt to start working out in the mornings.  I was supposed to start working out yesterday morning, but instead I ended up at the doctor’s office getting antibiotics.  So the working out is on hiatus, but at least the food is coming along!  Tomorrow…..another S…Sweet n Spicy Sriracha Salmon…Say that 5 times fast! Talk to you soon!

J

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

